SALGA DSR Games 2016

Wow what an event! At the beginning of  the year it was a goal of mine to qualify for this team and I did it! I’m happy with my results considering it was my first time attending and I at least know what to expect next time I go.

Salga games is a tournament of some sorts against the different municipalities in Durban which provide developmental games for everyone who participates. All the athletes are given an Adidas kit which are different colors to represent their districts.


This came as a shock to me because we received so much I almost didn’t know what to do with myself.

On day one, I participated in the 200m and came 4th in the final and won gold in the medley relay. On day two, I came 4th in the 100m final. I really wanted top 3 for 100&200 but considering how close I was to medal position in 200m means it can happen one day.

By my team and I winning the gold from our relay, that qualifies as my first medal in athletics – ever ! It sounds so pathetic but it’s the truth and I’m so ecstatic that the first one I win is a gold, hopefully the first of many 😉

This sadly was my last race of the year and I’m going into hell month with increased endurance sessions to try and chase my 24 in 200m and 12.5 in 100 !

Leave a Reply

