Potchefstroom Athletics Tour

In the wee hours of Thursday morning, my teammates and i trekked to Potchefstroom, 7 hours away from Durban for the NWU Pukke-Top 30 Athletics Meet.

This meet is apparently equivalent to South African Championships, which is our nationals which is a big deal. I haven’t ever qualified for SA Champs, but i dream to next year.

 

On day one of Friday I competed in the 200m heats. I ended up coming 2nd in 27.73, not a SB or a PB. I am disappointed in my time, as two weeks before i ran 27.00 and i was hoping to clock a sub-27 this weekend but you live and you learn and this just wasn’t the weekend for that. that doesn’t mean however that it will never come…

In the 400m this saturday morning, I came 6th in the 400m heat clocking in a 65.40. This surprisingly is a much better time than i had expected. i was expecting worse and to do worse overall. 400m luckily isn’t my main race so whether i run a pb or not is not my main concern.

As I have mentioned, i really wanted a pb this weekend. i also get mental anxiety from doubting myself and putting lots of pressure on myself and receiving it from my parents.

I plan to work hard these next 35 days to be able to get my pb at m next race. I know i can do it, because i train well and my times from practice should produce more PBS.

I will get that first place soon guys. Just going to keep working hard, fight for it and not give up.

Leave a Reply

