Sports Day At School Results + Goals Moving Forward

What a day! From the weather being cloudy this morning and expecting it to be cold, to the heat really picking up on the track throughout the day, and I am not just talking about the speed from today. Mixed bag of results but I am happy that I won my main races. Just wish there was a PB!

I was initially going for the Victrix Ladorum trophy this afternoon. In order to win this trophy, you have to participate in all events, field and track events. I went in with a positive mindset that I could get it and I really could’ve, however one can tell one when someone is a sprinter and when someone is not, and I unfortunately am not a long distance athlete, thank the heavens.

I am happy to say that I won all my main events, those being 100m, 200, 400m. The gaps were great and the praise I recieved from my school mates was even better. I am still in we of how my performance went. My times however, were not what I wanted it to be though, despite it being on my home soil.I’m grateful however that I was able to do my best and the training has really paid off.

So where do we go from here? I still have a long way to go in terms of qualifying for my provincial team. I am not even sure of what event I officially would like to specialize in! I love the 100, 200 and 400 and if it was up to me, I would do them all, but they each require a different amount of attention and I suck at giving it out.

To qualify I need:

  • 400m: 59 seconds, my PB is 64
  • 200m: 25 seconds, my PB is 27.83
  • 100m: 12.54, my PB is 12.76

Everyone says the 100m is where I belong and now I agree as that was my best race today, but whether I can run a sub-13 again, I have NO idea. We will see where life decides to take me!

Twitter: @phumikhumalo_

Instagram: @happymefit

 

Leave a Reply

